Tags

, , , , ,

1. What’s the scariest thing that’s ever been in your yard?

This is a hard question! I’m trying to toss up between the swarming ants in Australia, the malaria mosquitoes in Uganda, and the black bees in Tauranga. I know none of these compare to the horrors some others will have seen but they’re all scary to me. On a check-before-you-go-outside scale none of them register above a 1 out of 10 but they are all terrifying in a ‘What If’ scenario. What if I get malaria? What if the ants swarm and eat me alive? What if there are more bees waiting to avenge their fallen comrade? Overall, I think the ants win. These particular ones were big, fast, and everywhere. It felt like there was a whole world under the ground filled with ants preparing to challenge humans for control of Earth. Come to think of it, there probably was.

2. Beards. Thumbs up or thumbs down?

beard (1)

Who knew this is what Kip actually looked like!

I like a good beard and the stubble trend works for me too but moustaches should be reserved for a very specific subset of society and I’m almost never okay with goatees. But beards themselves? Thumbs up. Except that I just did a bit of googling and actually it seems I prefer clean shaven: so many of these men look ok – better than ok even – but I think they all look better clean shaven.

beard 5

Beards: yes, no, yes, no!

beard 9

Moustaches: no, no, no, no and no

beard 8

but Tom Selleck can actually rock a pretty good moustache

beard 3

Stubble: George? Very much yes; Ben? very much no; Hugh? Yes, but he’s better clean shaven; Ryan? Again it’s okay but nicer clean shaven

beard 4

Goatee: I think both Adam Sandler and Will Smith are great, but their mouth guards pain me to look at. Johnny Depp on the other hand somehow manages to pull it off.

Okay I think I got way too involved in that question. Moving on…

3. If stuff breaks, can you fix it?

I get a real kick out of figuring out how stuff works. A highlight was a couple of years ago when I learned how to replace my shattered car window (thanks YouTube) and did it all by myself. More recently Harry and I fixed our lawnmower, and I regularly get stuck into small things around the house. I can also change the oil and filter and the spark plugs in my car. Most things are actually quite simple to fix and I hate paying big bucks for someone to do an easy job I could do myself. I have a screwdriver set and a drill and I’m not afraid to use them.

4. What was your first car?

Straight out of school I got a job working in a factory that made industrial mowers. I was still living at home so my expenses were minimal and I found myself saving for the first time ever. Sometime in the middle of winter I had the bright idea that a car might be nice so I didn’t have to bike to work in the cold every day. Thus, the Nissan Pulsar entered my world. It was a black two-door hatchback about ten years old and I sold it 18 months later for almost the same price. Definitely a good car. In fact, 3 out of 4 of the cars I have owned have been Nissans and it’s because that first one was such a goodie.

5. How often do you eat out?

Not as often as I’d like, yet more than I know I should. I rather dislike cooking meals (and yet I really love baking.. strange). When I was flatting and cooking for only myself I would cook dinner maybe once a week and then on the other days I would have leftovers, toast, or I would eat out. Add to that the fact that there are so many delicious looking restaurants that I see and would love to try and I would almost always eat out if I could. Yet eating out is expensive! and all that rich food on a frequent basis isn’t very good for the old bod.

6. Why is your hair like that?

beard 2

Yesterday’s good hair day was photo-worthy, but please accept my apologies for the garish lighting, the mirror selfie and the less-than-delightful background props.

Because I’m too lazy to do it any other way. It is so thick that it often takes me ten minutes just to brush it. Ridiculous. Every single time I go to a hairdresser (maybe once a year) they exclaim over how thick it is. So I’m still looking for that magic formula which can get my hair done in 10 minutes and then I can look fabulous every day. To be honest, the first time I knew my hair could actually look fabulous was my birthday this year. Harry treated me to a blow wave at Dry and Tea and it was incredible how smooth and shiny my hair was after – like a shampoo commercial! But it took two girls 45 solid minutes with hair dryers and curling brushes to get it that way. So 1.5 hours solo for an amateur? NO. Do you have any ideas other than becoming rich and famous and paying somebody to do it for me? I can’t wait to see what other people respond to this question – I want to steal some tips.

beard 7

Post Dry and Tea. Best hair day yet.

** Update: I read over a few other people’s posts already and they were talking about length and colour: I love my hair long and I get it thinned but not frequently enough. Though I almost always wear it up because it annoys me so much when it’s constantly getting in my face or caught in things. And the colour is natural. It’s kind of a light brown but the top bits get bleached by the sun so it looks like I have highlights. I’ve tried dyes but never found one I liked so natural it is.

That’s my answers for this week’s Answer Me This. Head over to see Haley at Carrots for Michaelmas for more.

